Who can not receive foreign contribution under FCRA ?

As defined in Section 3(1) of FCRA, 2010, foreign contribution can not be accepted by any:
  • (a) a candidate for election;
  • (b) correspondent, columnist, cartoonist, editor, owner, printer or publisher of a registered newspaper;
  • (c) Judge, government servant or employee of any Corporation or any other body controlled on owned by the Government;
  • (d) member of any legislature;
  • (e) political party or office bearer thereof;
  • (f) organization of a political nature as may be specified under subsection
  • (1) of Section 5 by the Central Government.
  • (g) association or company engaged in the production or broadcast of audio news or audio visual news or current affairs programmes
  • through any electronic mode, or any other electronic form as defined in
  • clause (r) of sub-section (i) of Section 2 of the Information Technology Act,
  • 2000 or any other mode of mass communication;
  • (h) correspondent or columnist, cartoonist, editor, owner of the
  • association or company referred to in clause (g).
  • Explanation – In clause (c) and section 6, the expression “corporation’ means a corporation owned or controlled by the Government and includes a Government company as defined in section 617 of the Companies Act, 1956.
  • (i) individuals or associations who have been prohibited from receiving foreign contribution.